## 93.—Fire Insurance effected on property in Canada, under Section 129 of the Insurance Act, 1917, by Companies, Associations or Underwriters not licensed to transact business in Canada.

Companies.	Amount of Insurance.
Lloyds' Associations Reciprocal Underwriters. Mutual Companies. Stock Companies.	\$ 43,936,744 33,664,370 249,242,972 47,629,151
Tofal	374,473,237

## Description of Property.

Lumber and Lumber Mills Other Industrial Plants and Mercantile Establishments Stock and Merchandise Railway Property and Equipment Miscellaneous	54,696,934 18,637,293
Total	374,473,237

Amount by Provinces.

New Brunswick Quebec	$\begin{array}{c} 10,420,674\\ 17,707,677\\ 136,339,376\end{array}$	Saskatchewan Alberta British Columbia Yukon	5,186,153 18,748,368
Ontario Manitoba		Total	374,473,237

## XII.—ADMINISTRATION.

## PARLIAMENTARY REPRESENTATION.

**Representation by Provinces.**—The four original provinces of the Dominion were Ontario, Quebec, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick, which were given parliamentary representation according to Section 37 of the British North America Act, 1867. By Imperial Orders in Council the provinces of British Columbia and Prince Edward Island were admitted into the Dominion, the former on July 20, 1871, by Order dated May 16, 1871, and the latter on July 1, 1873, by Order dated June 26, 1873. An Act of the Dominion Parliament of May 12, 1870 (33 Vict., c. 3), provided for the formation of the province of Manitoba out of Rupert's Land and the Northwest Territories, so soon as these should be admitted into the Dominion of Canada, which admission was effected by Imperial Order in Council dated June 23, 1870, taking effect on July 15, 1870. In consequence of doubts as to the legal validity of the Dominion Act of 1870 (33 Vict., c. 3), the Imperial Parliament passed an Act in 1871 (34–35 Vict., c. 28), making the Canadian Act valid and effectual.

Parliament of Canada — The Parliament of the Dominion of Canada consists of the Senate with 96 members and of the House of Commons with 235 members, senators being appointed for life by the Governor-General and members of the House of Commons being